Butternut Squash Soup

To my dearest and most darling Anne,

After we finished our argument, where some things were said that shouldn’t have been, I reevaluated the issue.

Issue.

Despite it sounding like a simple, healthy Autumn meal, its just completely unrealistic.  I love my crockpot and I love the wonderful things it produces (except for that time I forgot about it for about 20 hours). But I am not  about to COOK something just for it to have to sit in a crock pot for 8 more hours.

So you can keep your frizzled prosciutto slow cooker pumpkin soup! I’ve got something better.

Butternut Squash Soup

3 strips of bacon

2-3 T butter

1 3lbish Butternut squash (<– this stupid thing cost me almost $6.), cubed

1 large yellow onion, diced

7ish cups of chicken broth

1 clove of garlic

1 T crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 cup cream

S/P to taste

Nutmeg

I cut my bacon into little pieces and fried them up in my dutch oven. Once they were crispy, I set them off to the side to await further judgement. Leave the bacon fat in the pot and add the butter.

Add the diced onion and some salt and red pepper flakes, do not let the onions brown. Add the garlic and continue to saute until the onions are translucent. Toss the cubed squash into the pot along with the broth.

I seasoned the soup with more salt, pepper and some grated nutmeg.

Allow the soup to cook until the squash is soft. Transfer to a blender and do what feels right.Return the blended soup to your pan and add the cream.

I topped my soup with the bits of bacon, roasted squash seeds (see below) and a sriracha cream sauce.

Roasted Squash Seeds

I love, love, love pumpkin seeds so much – they are my favorite part of carving pumpkins!

Once I peeled and halved my squash, I removed the insides and reserved them in a separate bowl.

Clean the seeds, removing any squash-gunk, and allow them to dry. I had maybe 1/4 – 1/3 cup from my one squash. I mixed in the following:

1 t EVOO

paprika

cumin

garlic powder

salt

pepper

I roasted them in a 350* oven for about 15 minutes. Once they start popping – they are done!

XOXO,

Mae

Ps. I have step by step photos that I will add, as soon as I remember to bring my camera to work.

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

