Mondays

Yesterday was a holiday and with that came a few options. I could seize the day, explore the city, try a new restaurant, meet up with some friends OR I could go into the office and clock some overtime hours OR I could stay home and get some necessary things done: laundry, cleaning, …….the litterbox…. OR (hint: this is the one I picked) sleep until 3, shower, play with my hair, watch crappy tv and then bake cookies in the middle of the night. Yep. Holidays are wasted on people like me.

Anyway lets move on from my complete worthlessness, Cookies! That’s the story here!

I made these last fall and they were quickly devoured. Since I like to give the people what they want, I made them again. It is exactly Halloween yet, but whatever I do what I want!

Step 1: Make your favorite sugar cookie recipe

mine:

2 sticks of butter (room temp)

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

2 T lemon juice

2 T lemon zest

Pinch of salt

3 cups of flour

1/2 tsp of baking soda

Cream butter and sugar. Add egg, lemon stuff and salt. Slowly add the dry ingredients (or just dump it).

Step 2: Divide the dough into 3 even balls (ha, balls)

Step 3: Line a breadpan with wax paper

Step 4: Press one layer of the plain cookie dough into the pan, evenly, please.

Step 5: Make one of the remaining balls yellow; make the last ball orange

Step 6: Press the next two layers gently and evenly into the pan

Step 7: Wrap it up, pop it the fridge and go watch Pretty Woman for the first time (Stupidest movie ever? Anyone?)

Step 8: Become impatient, put it in the freezer for 30 minutes

Step 9: When the dough is good and chilled; remove it from the loaf pan and slice it in 1/4″ – 1/2″ slices (like you would bread). Then cut each slice into triangles. Dip one side in sugar. Sanding sugar would be better, but my Safeway is ghetto and didnt have any.

Step 10: Bake at 375 for 7-10 minutes. Quickly eat 3 and package them up so no one really knows how many you ate.

XO,

Mae

Leave a Reply

