Veganism and Non-Vegan Cake

10 Reasons why I am going to be vegan (sometimes)

1. To achieve better overall health.
2. Eggs and I are currently on the outs.
3. No more accidental bites of gristle (I shudder just thinking about that).
4. Because I am creepy and JM is a part-time vegan and I kinda want to be her. (A lot)
5. Every time I type vegan, I spell it v-e-g-a-s. Literally every single time. And that is pretty awesome.
6. To be thinner
7. Fruits and veggies are delicious
8. Almond milk > cow titty milk
9. Also, so I never type “cow titty milk” because that’s weird.
10. I don’t need to eat nearly as much cheese as I currently do.

This hasn’t started yet, but it WILL. Tomorrow night when my groceries get delivered! (Yes, I do live one block away from safeway and 3 blocks from whole foods but still insist on ordering my groceries online.)

One of my most favorite friends recently celebrated her 25th birthday. I made the birthday cake for her surprise party, since that is pretty much all I am good for. Now, as much as I hate to toot my own horn, the cake was really fucking good and I wanted a lot more than the dainty ladylike slice I gave myself.

The BEST part about cakes is I can’t “forget” a couple pieces of it at home that I “accidentally” shovel into my face later on. Stupid cupcakes.

Funfetti Butter Cake with Vanilla Buttercream

2 c all purpose flour
1 Tbs baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 c butter, room temperature
1 1/2 c sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 c milk
5 large egg whites, room temperature
¼ c multi-colored nonpareils or jimmies (balls or sticks for the less fancy) and by “1/4 c” I mean I didnt measure at all I just went “AAHAHAHHHHHHHH SPRINKLES!>!>>!>”

I HATE WRITING RECIPES YOU JERKS.

Preheat at 350F. Grease 2 9” round pans and LINE THEM WITH PARCHMENT PAPER. This is really important. It might seem like an annoying, unnecessary step but you’re wrong. There is nothing worse than trying to remove a cake from a pan and it’s all like, “Nope.” And then it crumbles into a thousand pieces of cake. Main point, unless you are going to be making cake balls, line your goddamn pan.

Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. In another bowl mix butter until its fluffy and then mix in the sugar and then vanilla.  Alternately beat in the flour mixture and the milk.

In ANOTHER bowl beat 5 egg whites until you have stiff peaks. Gently fold it in the cake batter.

And then, delicately mix in your desired amount of sprinkles.

Pour into your greased and LINED cake pans and bake for…until they are done minutes. Just keep an eye on it and test it with a tooth pick.

Let them cool before assembling cake.

Vanilla Buttercream

1 c (2 sticks) butter (room temp)
2 lbs confectioners suger
½ c milk
2 T vanilla extract
a couple drops of your desired color because white frosting is boring.

Beat together butter and sugar and then add milk and vanilla. Add the color when its done.

And then frost yo cake!

This has nothing to do with cake or being vegan, but whenever you guys make fun of me for being a crazy cat lady just remember that I am not crazy enough for my friends to make me a cat shaped collage made from cat pictures.

xo,

mae

Leave a Reply

