How is it already April?

I have been neglectful of this blog because I’ve been (98%) vegan for the past month. Consequently, I haven’t been baking much.

More importantly, I go to Paris in:

28 days
691 hours
41471 minutes
2488295 seconds

I am real excited.

Between veganism and learning French (watching French movies and google mapping Paris), I managed to do/eat these things:

 

I used these things to make a cake for my boss’ birthday….because I am a terrible assistant and need to make up for that in cake.

The finished product was a chocolate stout cake with baileys swiss meringue buttercream topped with a jameson ganache. I didn’t eat any of it, but my bosses told me that I should quit them and make cakes for a living. I guess they liked it.

These are chocolate vegan cupcakes. The cake part was great and I will definitely make it again. I found it in my MS cupcake book. The frosting was…painfully sweet and…gross (Shortening, confectioners sugar, vanilla and almond milk. Guinea pig 1 agreed that the frosting was poopoo but guinea pig 2 was like “vegan, what? frooooosting, mmmmm.”

Buffalo “chicken” wings. I deep fried tofu and it was awesome. It’s probably best that I don’t use my deep fryer all that often, its just so dangerous.

Ch-ch-ch-chia! I eat chia seeds for breakfast most mornings. But I want to make sure I really stress this point because it is important: chia seeds are really fucking weird. You add water or milk to them and let them sit for a few minutes and they get all…jelly. Totally weird.

Vegan pizza. I used shredded Daiya cheese for the first time and it was great! …until it was cold. The daiya “cheese” got all soggy and squishy and gross. Cold pizza is my favorite thing and this ruined it.

Coconut milk ice cream. Also weird, but not bad. It takes some getting used to but it satisfies my craving for ice cream AND I don’t want to eat the whole pint at once. So that’s good.

Whole Food’s cold bar rocks my little vegan world. I do random drop-bys to see if they have any more of those vegan wontons. They were life changing. Life. Change. Ing. Also, I’ve eaten that seitan marsala at least 5 times.

NON VEGAN!  YEAH! I needed to bring something to a friend’s house for Game of Thrones night. I had left over guinness cupcakes so I filled them with a jameson creme (holy moly could you taste the whiskey!).

Then I topped them with a simple Baileys buttercream and sugar pearls because I am fucking fancy.

I have secured my invite back for next week. Seriously, I only have friends because I can bake.

I can’t wait to go to France and stop being a vegan. I need to put cheese in my face so bad. SO BAD! GET IN MY FACE CHEESES!!!!!

An apple will have to do for now 😦

 

Mae

 

Leave a Reply

